• Welcome to www.fastfrogs.co.nz - Fast Frogs The NZ home for Fast French Cars .

newb newb

Started by dimjim, May 17, 2009, 08:55:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dimjim

Hey all,

Absolute newbie. I'm a young guy who's always liked the look of a 205gti and has finally managed to get some funds saved up to get one. :). Hopefully. ;)

Just trying to learn a bit more about what to look for first - from what I can gather just buying the first one you see can be a bad mistake? Of course I may have the wrong idea here... let me know.

Any general advice greatly appreciated, although I suppose you get a view messages like this, must get pretty boring replying after a while.

Thanks.

309munkey

get out there and BUY  ONE!!    coupla ones on TM.. what you got to spend?  that red auto looks good and you can alway find a manual g-box to stick in later.    THESE guys will direct you in the right direction.  Good luck.

Griffe

Welcome along!

How did you hear about us?  Sounds like you've got your head screwed on the right way round!  How much are you wanting to spend? Any car you buy will need $$$ spent on it, it just depends what the offset for you is in terms of skill/money/availability of parts etc...
It's a workup

CaM

offer hairy some money for his.
1959 Citroën ID19 Slough
1990 Peugeot 205Mi16

Carpentry

Buying the first anything you see is generally bad ;)

Don't rush it. Waiting for the right one will make it a far more enjoyable experience. It will be an experience whether you like it or not but you can reduce the pain factor!

Happy hunting
Take it to Bishops

mrc_1979

Carpentry makes a good point there. After my 309 got written off I was probably a little too keen to get into another pug. Ended up buying pretty much the first okay-ish 205 I saw. Whilst not in bad nick I basically bought someone elses problems as the previous owner was obviously not big on preventative maintenance etc lol.