• Welcome to www.fastfrogs.co.nz - Fast Frogs The NZ home for Fast French Cars .

Hi! Looking to buy 406SV manual

Started by madandy, September 01, 2009, 12:50:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

madandy

Hi all,

I am new to french flair ownership having only ever driven a 205GTi 1.9 and my mum in laws 309GTi. My Euro ownership taste has only been in the form of a E36 328iM sedan and a Mk IV GTi Golf (eeewwww!)
I've had a stream of fast & not so fast machines from the 'Land of The Rising Sun' though.
I'm currently building a 1990 HP10 Nissan Primera for circuit duties as it's been a while between track outings and using the family road car has become an excercise in futility since the family actually became reality a couple of years back  8)

Now I'm looking to a 4 owner 1998 406 SV manual sedan. Beautiful in wine red with a dealer fitted lowering kit and 17" wheels. The car has done 174,000kms and the owner reports the only faults to be some stone chips to the wheels and a lightly scuffed lower front lip from entering harsh driveways, car being lowered & all. A sound from the rear he beleives to be either a bent wheel (WTF?) or a wheel bearing on its way out...
He states the V6 runs very well & has been well cared for, the clutch was replaced recently and all electrics work as intended. He has some service records from his ownership period.

here it is on Trademe: http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=213494417

Please no-on steal her from under me - I've begun negotiations with the seller already,  :-*

Is there a particular issue(s) with this model to be aware of?
I'm planning to check it over later this week and hope its good enough to take home.
I'm mechanically capable though a little gun-shy of more technical things lie engine control computers etc.

cheers all,
Andy

madandy

A funky sound? How did it drive? moremoremore please  :)
I'll be going over it with a fine tooth combe now you say its been listed so long!

madandy