• Welcome to www.fastfrogs.co.nz - Fast Frogs The NZ home for Fast French Cars .

Small, black, and goes around corners pretty good

Started by lilpete, November 04, 2010, 07:42:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lilpete

Hey everyone

So after much debate about what my next four-cylinder endeavor should be, I had my decision swayed by a few Peugeot-toting friends. In particular, it was the mechanic that said 'Oh, Peugeot 306? Yeah, they're a bundle of fun'. One 306 S16 later, here I am.

A bit about me: I'm a fourth year student at Vic Uni in Wellington. I've owned an interesting array of motor vehicles in the past - a couple of Bedford vans (one of which was even allowed to drive on the road), a Subaru, Toyota Liteace, old Toyota Corona station wagon.... and some other rubbish. I'm a bit mechanically minded, but not a lot, HOWEVER I'm super keen to get into doing more mechanical work myself, and I think the car I managed to pick up (for $2k!) is a pretty sweet place to start. I'm also yet to hit up a track day, but that's certainly on my todo list.

I've had a bit of a perve around some other rides already, there's some fantastic automobiles out there. Now I've got my hands on one, I think I may be in for the long term.

Without further ado, photos (there are more around somewhere... they're coming soon):

The car: a 306 S16, I bought it around 196,000kms from a Euro car enthusiast (looked after it very well, very nice guy - may be around here somewhere?). A bit of paint's chipped off the front grille, a tear in the driver's seat cloth (but mostly leather, and in good nick), and the heater's currently working like - well, is expected in a Peugeot 306 (ie. not at all) from what I hear.

Apart from that, mechanically it appears to be great. There's a little issue with the temp warning light/stop light flicking on - but temp always seems to be low. I've done a few trips around the place in it with no qualms as yet, and loving it. A lot.